Obi Wins Tinubu’s Lagos, Ayade Loses Out… Major Upsets Of 2023 Election

The 2023 general elections have witnessed major upsets as the results keep coming in across the country, OduNews reports.

Obi Wins Tinubu's Lagos, Ayade Loses Out... Major Upsets Of 2023 Election
Obi Wins Tinubu’s Lagos, Ayade Loses Out… Major Upsets Of 2023 Election

Below are some of the major upsets seen so far:

Obi Floors Tinubu In Lagos

The presidential candidate of the Labour party Peter Obi defeated the APC Presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu in Lagos, his stronghold.

Though Tinubu won more local governments, Obi defeated him with the majority of the votes cast.

Atiku Defeats Buhari In Katsina

The Presidential Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar, won the election in President Muhammadu Buhari’s state, Katsina.

Abubakar secured a total of 489,045 to edge out the All Progressives Congress candidate Bola Tinubu who polled 482,283 votes and other candidates.

Ganduja Loses Local Government To Kwankwaso’s NNPP

Kano state governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, lost his local government area to the presidential candidate of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso.

Ganduje is from Ganduje village in Dawakin Tofa LGA of Kano state. In the results announced by the returning officer, Adamu Jibril, Ganduje’s All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 16,773 votes while NNPP scored 25,072 votes.

APC National Chairman Abdullahi Adamu Loses Senatorial Bid

The National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Abdullahi Adamu, lost his polling unit to the Labour Party, according to the results of the presidential election announced Saturday evening.

Labour Party’s Peter Obi won in the polling unit with 132 votes while Bola Tinubu of the APC came second with 85 votes.

Also, Ahmed Wadada, candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), won the senatorial zone of the APC National Chairman to retire him from active politics in the zone. Adamu could not deliver the APC candidate, Shehu Tukur to replace him at the red chambers

Rivers governor, Ben Ayade, Loses Senatorial Election To PDP

The Senator representing the Northern Senatorial District of Cross River in the National Assembly, Sen Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe of PDP, defeated Governor Ben Ayade of APC to retain his Senate seat.

Senator Jarigbe garnered 76,145 to defeat Ayade who polled 56, 595 votes in the exercise.

Declaring Sen. Jarigbe the winner of the Senatorial election in the early hours of Monday, 27th, 2023, the returning officer, Dr Emmanuel Emanghe, commended stakeholders for their peaceful conduct

Labour Party Floors Tames Gov. Ugwuanyi

Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State lost his senatorial bid to the Labour Party (LP) candidate for the district, Okechukwu Ezea.

Mr Ezea, the LP candidate, polled a total of 104,492 votes to defeat Mr Ugwuanyi of the PDP, who came second with 46,948 votes. The All Progressives Congress candidate for the district, Ejike Eze, garnered 6,816 votes to come a distant third.

OduNews on Google News

Submit press release, news tips to us: | Follow us @ODUNewsNG 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More