US Adds Cuba To Counterterrorism Blacklist

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The United States has included Cuba in the blacklist of countries that do not really cooperate on the fight against terrorism.

US Includes Cuba In Counterterrorism Blacklist
Includes Cuba In Counterterrorism Blacklist

Iran, Syria, Venezuela and North Korea are the countries that have been on the Blacklist.

Cuba has been included in the list for failing to be certified in 2019 under a US counterterrorism law that affects defense exports.

It was the first time that Cuba was not certified since 2015. The State Department pointed to the presence of negotiators from Colombia’s ELN rebels, who traveled to Havana in 2017 to negotiate with the Bogota government but have not returned.

“Cuba’s refusal to productively engage with the Colombian government demonstrates that it is not cooperating with US work to support Colombia’s efforts to secure a just and lasting peace, security and opportunity for its people,” the State Department said.

Colombian President Ivan Duque, a conservative ally of the United States, broke off talks with the ELN after a January car bomb attack on a Bogota police academy killed 21 recruits.

The militants have been demanding, unsuccessfully, that Colombia grant safe passage for its negotiators to return from Cuba.

The State Department move will have little practical effect on Cuba, which does not import weapons from the United States, its arch-rival.

But the step is the latest by President Donald Trump’s administration to increase pressure on Cuba and move away from the reconciliation efforts under his predecessor Barack Obama.

The ELN is said to operate in about 10 percent of Colombia but is a smaller player than the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia, or FARC, which reached a landmark peace agreement with the government in 2016.


Adelowo Adegboyega
Link Up
OduNews on Google News

Submit press release, news tips to us: [email protected] | Follow us @ODUNewsNG