Sanwo-Olu Places Total Ban On Okada In Six Local Governments [SEE LIST]

Lagos state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu has placed a total ban on the operations of commercial motorcycles, popularly called Okada, in six local government areas, can confirm.

Sanwo-Olu Places Total Ban On Okada In Nine Local Governments [SEE LIST]
Governor Sanwo-Olu gave this order today while speaking with all DPOs and Area Commanders across the State today at the Lagos House, Ikeja.

The full implementation of the ban is set to commence on June 1st 2022.

The affected  local governments are Ikeja, Surulere, Eti-Osa, Lagos Mainland, Lagos Island and Apapa.

Sanwo-Olu said, “The whole of Ikeja, Surulere, Eti-Osa, Lagos Mainland, Lagos Island, and Apapa local governments have been placed on a total ban effective from the first of June. This is the first phase of banning that we are going to be embarking on, so that others should know… They should find something else to do.

The governor noted that other security agencies will join in the enforcement of the ban.

“We are giving notice now, they should begin to plan their strategies. From June 1, we want all these Okadas to be completely off Lagos major roads,” Sanwo-Olu added.

Below is a list of the affected areas:

Apapa Iganmu  LCDA

Ojodu LCDA
Onigbongbo LCDA

Lagos Island
Lagos Island West LCDA
Lagos Island East LCDA

Lagos Mainland

Coker Aguda LCDA
Itire-Ikate LCDA

Eti-Osa East LCDA
Eti-Osa West LCDA
Iru Victoria Island LCDA
Ikoyi-Obalende LCDA

OduNews on Google News

Submit press release, news tips to us: [email protected] | Follow us @ODUNewsNG 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More