Haaland Wins FWA Player Of The Year Award

Manchester City forward Erling Haaland has been named the Football Writers Association Player of the Year award, OduNews reports.

Haaland Wins FWA Player Of The Year Award
MADRID, SPAIN – MAY 09: Erling Haaland of Manchester City looks on during the UEFA Champions League semi-final first leg match between Real Madrid and Manchester City FC at Estadio Santiago Bernabeu on May 09, 2023 in Madrid, Spain. (Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images)

The Norwegian has plundered a remarkable 51 goals in 47 appearances in all competitions, and taken City to the verge of becoming the first side to do the treble of Premier League, Champions League and FA Cup since rivals Manchester United in 1999.

Chelsea star Sam Kerr has won the FWA Women’s Footballer of the Year award after yet another superb season for the Blues, with the Australia international having scored a stunning 27 goals this campaign.

Kerr wins the award for the second time in succession, following in the footsteps of her Chelsea teammate Fran Kirby, who also won it twice in 2017-18 and 2020-21.

Haaland won 82 per cent of the vote and becomes the third Manchester City player to win the award in the last five seasons, following on from Raheem Sterling in 2018-19 and Ruben Dias in 2020-21.

Haaland has already set the record for the most goals in a Premier League season, scoring 35 times in 32 games as City have pulled ahead of long-time leaders Arsenal at the top of the table.

Pep Guardiola’s side are just one point ahead of the Gunners but crucially have four more games to play while Arsenal have three.

OduNews on Google News

Submit press release, news tips to us: tips@odunews.com | Follow us @ODUNewsNG 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More