PM Keir Starmer Announces New Cabinet Following Labour’s Election Victory

PM Keir Starmer Announces New Cabinet Following Labour's Election Victory

Newly-elected UK Prime Minister Keir Starmer has announced his first cabinet appointments, the BBC reported on Friday.

This comes after the centre-left Labour Party’s sweeping general election victory, which concluded 14 years of Conservative governance.

Starmer, the first Labour Prime Minister since Gordon Brown in 2010, was invited by King Charles III to form a government during a meeting at Buckingham Palace on Friday.

The new cabinet members are as follows:

  • Angela Rayner – Deputy Prime Minister
  • Rachel Reeves – Chancellor
  • David Lammy – Foreign Secretary
  • Yvette Cooper – Home Secretary
  • John Healey – Defence Secretary
  • Pat McFadden – Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
  • Ed Miliband – Energy Secretary
  • Bridget Phillipson – Education Secretary
  • Wes Streeting – Health Secretary
  • Shabana Mahmood – Justice Secretary
OduNews on Google News

Submit press release, news tips to us: | Follow us @ODUNewsNG 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More