FULL LIST: Nominees For 2023 CAF Awards Unveiled

Nigeria Dominates 2023 CAF Women's Player of the Year Nominations with Seven Super Falcons Stars

In a thrilling announcement by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Tuesday, seven remarkable Nigerian football talents have been shortlisted for the prestigious 2023 CAF Women’s Player of the Year award.

FULL LIST: Nominees For 2023 CAF Awards Unveiled

The Super Falcons players have earned their places on the nomination list, making Nigeria the country with the highest number of nominees in the list of 30 players, which represents women from 12 different countries across the African continent.

The Nigerian players who have earned the coveted nomination are Asisat Oshoala, Rasheedat Ajibade, Uchenna Kanu, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Osinachi Ohale, Toni Payne, and Christy Ucheibe. This impressive representation reflects the immense talent and dedication of Nigerian female footballers on the international stage.

Asisat Oshoala, who currently holds the top prize after securing victory in the 2022 edition of the award, stands as one of the most remarkable nominees. This year’s nomination marks her fifth time as a nominee and her quest to maintain her status as the best female footballer in Africa. Oshoala’s incredible journey has seen her surpass the legendary Perpetua Nkwocha, the former Super Falcons striker.

In addition to the Player of the Year category, Chiamaka Nnadozie, the talented Nigerian goalkeeper, has been nominated for the Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year award, further highlighting Nigeria’s prowess in women’s football.

The Super Falcons have not only produced outstanding players but have also contributed significantly to the coaching sphere. Randy Waldrum, the head coach of the Super Falcons, has been named as a nominee for the Coach of the Year award, showcasing the team’s achievements under his leadership.

The accolades continue with the Best Young Player of the Year category, where three Nigerian rising stars, Deborah Abiodun, Esther Ajakaye, and Oluwatosin Demehin, have made their mark among the nominees, affirming Nigeria’s commitment to nurturing young talent in women’s football.

Furthermore, the Super Falcons as a collective have received recognition by being nominated for the Women’s National Team of the Year award. This recognition comes as a testament to the team’s consistency and outstanding performance on the continental stage.

The 2023 CAF awards show promises to be an electrifying event, scheduled to take place on December 11 in Marrakech, Morocco. The footballing world eagerly awaits the unveiling of the winners in these prestigious categories, as Africa celebrates the incredible talent and achievements of its female footballers.

Full List of Nominees:

Player of the Year (Women):

  • Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)
  • Evelyn Badu (Ghana, Avaldnes)
  • Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi, Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Temwa Chawinga (Malawi, Wuhan Jiangda)
  • Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)
  • Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Ibtissam Jraidi (Morocco, AS FAR/Al Ahli)
  • Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Zenatha Coleman (Namibia, Fenerbahce)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
  • Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  • Christy Ucheibe (Nigeria, Benfica)
  • Osinachi Ohale (Nigeria, Alaves/Pachuca)
  • Rasheedat Ajibade (Nigeria, Atletico Madrid)
  • Toni Payne (Nigeria, Sevilla)
  • Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria, Tigres/Racing Louisville)
  • Ndeye Awa Diakhaté (Senegal, Olympique de Marseille)
  • Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)
  • Jermaine Seoposenwe (South Africa, Juarez/Monterrey)
  • Linda Motlhalo (South Africa, Glasgow City)
  • Refiloe Jane (South Africa, Sassuolo)
  • Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)
  • Afi Sabine Woedikou (Togo, Strasbourg/Nantes)
  • Sabrina Ellouzi (Tunisia, Excelsior)
  • Fazila Ikwaput (Uganda, Kampala Queens)
  • Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)
  • Grace Chanda (Zambia, Madrid CFF)
  • Rachael Kundananji (Zambia, Madrid CFF)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women):

  • Ange Bawou (Cameroon, Bayelsa Queens/ BIIK-Shymkent)
  • Dolores Hernandez Masongo (Equatorial Guinea, Huracanes)
  • Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)
  • Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  • Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)
  • Najiat Abass Idrisa (Tanzania, JKT Queens)
  • Catherine Musonda (Zambia, Tomiris Turan)
  • Cynthia Shongwe (Zimbabwe, Harare City)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

  • Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • N’Guessan Nadege Koffi (Cote d’Ivoire, SC Casablanca)
  • Elena Oyana (Equatorial Guinea, Huracanes)
  • Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  • Tracy Twum (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  • Oumou Kone (Mali, AS Mande)
  • Aziza Rabbah (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
  •  Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)

  • Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  •  Mary Amponsah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  • Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
  • Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)
  • Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)
  • Oluwatosin Demehin (Nigeria, Stade Reims)
  • Hapsatou Malado Diallo (Senegal, USPA/Eibar)
  • Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)
  • Winifreda Gerald (Tanzania, JKT Queens)
  • Fauzia Najjemba (Uganda, Dynamo Moscow)

Coach of the Year (Women)

  • Nana Joe Adarkwa (Ampem Darkoa)
  • Lovemore Fazili (Malawi)
  • Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)
  • Mohamed Amine Alioua (AS FAR)
  • Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
  • Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)
  • Mame Moussa Cisse (Senegal)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  •  Esther Chabruma (JKT Queens)

National Team of the Year (Women)

  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Ghana
  • Malawi
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  •  Zambia

Club of the Year (Women)

  • Athletico d’Abidjan (Cote d’Ivoire)
  • Huracanes (Equatorial Guinea)
  • Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)
  • AS Mande (Mali)
  • AS FAR (Morocco)
  • SC Casablanca (Morocco)
  •  Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  •  JKT Queens (Tanzania)
OduNews on Google News

Submit press release, news tips to us: tips@odunews.com | Follow us @ODUNewsNG 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More